Pettigo Holiday Homes Donegal
Pettigo and Tullyhommon share the same small village community bisected by the Termon River which creates the border between County Donegal and County Fermanagh. Pettigo means “The place of the Blacksmith” it got its name from the large number of Blacksmiths that worked in the town in Celtic times.
In the 17th and 18th centuries Pettigo became a famous market place comprising a rich heritage with many historic buildings. The Market yard and stores was the biggest market yard in both Donegal and Fermanagh.
Many people travelled on the great Northern Railway line which stopped off at Pettigo to buy and sell their produce. The village suffered from the demise of the railway in the 1950’s and from the closure of numerous cross-border roads during the height of the trouble in Northern Ireland.
St Patrick’s Purgatory a place of Christian pilgrimage since medieval times – still attracts thousands of pilgrims between May and September. St Patrick’s Purgatory lies about 4 miles north of Pettigo. This is a special place of peace and personal challenge.